Utopian or Dystopian? Glass Everywhere

My 12-yr-old daughter delighted in showing me this video last night. I watched, biting ever deeper into my tongue, as a future that looked amazing to her unfolded dreadfully before me. Everywhere a screen: on windows, on desks, countertops, on every surface appeared the news, the schedules, a flood of data in all places, all spaces, mediated by screens.

Does any adult really look forward to MORE information? I don’t think I know a single person who doesn’t feel a bit overwhelmed already, And yet, the comments attached to this video contained plenty of effusive passion for it, even demands that it happen faster.

Then came that calming voice on my shoulder, “don’t be so negative, you simply fear change.” Yes, calming voice, I do. We all do, at least at first.

What do you teachers think of the classroom depicted and the educational outdoor forest display? How do these mediated virtual interactions affect learning?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

