Making New Favorites

Do you use bookmarks in your browser? It seems weirdly antiquated now, 2014, making links to favorite web sites, meticulously organizing them in folders, IN Firefox. I should be putting it all in the ‘cloud’, right?

Some of you have gotten into the online bookmarking site we looked at in Week 1, Diigo. I use it regularly now for the things worth sharing, along with my bookmark bar in the browser for email, online dox, Pandora, and more my personal day-to-day to-dos.

golden sunriseThe point here is I just got my laptop totally redone, the browsing experience starting from scratch. I could load up my stored bookmarks of course, but this is like a new apartment, and maybe I should get some new furniture. Bookmarks  define my neighborhood web, and I am getting to see where I go most frequently as I rebuild my collection. Sure, Google knows exactly where I’ve been and loves to remind me, but I am going to try to be more aware of the patterns of my internet explorations to see what serves me; what’s working and what’s not. How I can be more productive, and maybe carve some new trails.

I used to play a game with my best friend where we’d think up internet domain names we thought might exist, and see if they really did. There was always funny stuff to discover. This was back in the 90s when there seemed to be more quirky homemade websites. I sort of miss the random freshness of the internet. The next time I Google something I’m going to skip to the 778th page found.

2 Comments

February 2, 2014 · 1:32 am

2 responses to “Making New Favorites

  1. I totally agree with your comments about bookmarks, When I bookmark something, I rarely return to it. It just gives me a feeling of security that it will be there if I need it. Most of the time, the same page is there..but sometimes not. That’s where DIIGO comes in! Like you, Thatcher, I struggle with how to organize all these great sites or pages I have saved so I know where to find them later. Too many bookmarks and/or saved pages lead to too much computer clutter–kind of like too much clutter in my home. I can’t find what I need when I need it. So any further suggestions about how to organize the saved pages?

    • The quest to better organize seems neverending.
      My digital organizing tips would be:
      – Use folders and sub-folderize as much as possible to keep from getting too many things in one folder.
      – Folders may be a thing of the past(!) for many services, such as Diigo and Gmail, but in their place they have lists, groups (we have our teachers learning together group), and tags/keywords. They are all good ways to organize but perhaps tags are the best, because they allow you to search for those tag words later when we’ve forgotton which list we stuck them in. Diigo lets you attach tags every time you make a bookmark, and suggests them there as well.
      – another good tip for digital files in general is to NOT abbreviate your folder and filenames. It may seem wise in the moment but again, it will be harder to use a simple search term to find them later if you use funky abbreviations.

Leave a Reply

